Bracket tournaments

What is a bracket tournament ?

A bracket is a tree diagram that represents the series of games played or that will be played during a single elimination tournament. The core principle is that each branch of this tree-view gathers together two players or teams. The loosers are eliminated immediately after their defeat while the winners move forward to the next step. Other bracket formats exist, however, only single-elimination brackets are available on the PS+League. 

Below is an example of Bracket. You can see that player 1 will play against player 2 while player 3 will compete against player 4 at the same time. As the outcome of the two matches, winners of their respective matches go to the next level to play against each other.

Le format bracket

Please note that no Bracket tournament of the PS+League offers a Loser Bracket which is a retake of the tree-view allowing losers of the « winner » bracket to play against each other for another chance to qualify for the finals.

Objective of a Bracket tournament

The objective of a Bracket tournament is to try to go as far as possible toward the final victory. The more you progress in a Bracket, the higher your opponent's level will be.

Solo Bracket tournament process

To participate in a solo Bracket tournament, you must register at least 5 minutes before the tournament starts. You must be registered to the tournament to be included in the bracket : once it's generated, no one can enter anymore and the tournament will begin.

As soon as the tournament starts, the tournament's tree-view is displayed in the Bracket section of the tournament page. The « Play » tab also appears : in this tab you will be able to validate your presence,  and will be introduced to your opponent as soon as the match is launched.

Join your opponent by adding their playstation network ID (don't forget to use the chatbox if you can't find him) and start your match once all the rules you've setup your match according to the rules. Rules that you can read in the « Rules » tab !

WARNING : You absolutely must click the « Ready » button in your match sheet under the Play tab. If you don’t click it within the 15 minutes allowed after the creation of your match you will be considered forfeit and thus lose the match.

In games in which you must create a lobby and host a game, players must host games alternately. The player located in the upper side of the Bracket must host the first round of the match, the second round is hosted by their opponents and so on.

In this case PLAYER 1 has to host the first round of the match, the third and eventually, the fifth.

Make sure to remain connected on the tournament page to make sure you won't be forfeit. Once your game is over, fill in your scores and the winner will go to the next turn.

Team Bracket tournament process

A team bracket tournament is similar to a solo bracket tournament, the only major difference being that all the validation process steps and the relation with your opponents will be made by your Captain.

Just like in solo tournaments, it is mandatory to register 5 minutes before the start of the tournament. As soon as the tournament begins, the tree-view tournament will be displayed in the « Bracket » section. The « Play » section will appear and Captains of both teams will have to click on « Ready » and then invite the other players using their PlayStation Network Ids to a game. Don't hesitate to use the chatbox if needed, but remember that only the Captain can type and answer in it. Start your game once you've setup your game according to the rules.

The Captain must imperatively click on the « Ready » button from its game sheet (« Play » section). If he does not click it within the 15 minutes allowed after the creation of your match all the team will be considered forfeit and will thus lose the match.

In order to create a game, Captains must host games alternately. The Captain located in the upper side of the Bracket must host the first round of the match, the second round is host by the other Captain and so on and so forth.

In this case TEAM 1 captain has to host the first round of the match.

If you are the team Captain make sure to remain connected on the tournament page during the duration of the tournament to avoid a FREEWIN defeat. Once your game is over, each Captain fills in the scores and the winner team will go to the next turn.

Arbitration

Bracket tournament arbitrage is made in real time to make sure every round of the tournament runs smoothly one after the other. Please answer the referees quickly and give them every proofs they may demand.

Everytime you win a round or a match, please take screenshots or pictures as proofs in case your opponent contests your victory and fill in the results page for each round or match.

To make sure everything goes well, don't hesitate to chat with your opponent in the chat box at the bottom of your screen. The referees may also contact you this way, so make sure you explain what is happening in a clear fashion to help him understand the situation.

Don't forget that you are the only one who can play and give any proofs necessary for a referee to judge the situation. Silence and absence of proofs can be considered a confession.

Any time you encounter a problem, you must click on “Ask for a Referee” for a referee to come.

Never play a match with the wrong settings ! A match that has been played to its end is a match whose conditions were accepted. Any protestation about this particular match won't be accepted!

Please note: in case of a team tournament, only the captain can speak in the chat with the opponent's captain and only the two of them can upload proofs.

For more details, please refer to the Rules tab of the tournament and its FAQ.

Le Bracket

Qu'est-ce qu'un bracket ?

Un bracket est ce qu’on appelle en français un « arbre » qui représente les matchs joués ou à jouer dans un tournoi. Le principe de base est que chaque branche du bracket rassemble deux joueurs (ou deux équipes). Le gagnant avance et le perdant est éliminé. C’est en tout cas le fonctionnement d’un bracket « Single Elimination » (ou Elimination Directe).

Voici un exemple ci-dessous :

Le format bracket

Aucun tournoi au format Bracket de la PS+League ne possède de Loser Bracket, c’est-à-dire un arbre de rattrapage permettant au perdant de s’affronter pour se requalifier.

Objectif d'un bracket ?

L’objectif d’un Bracket est de passer le plus de tours jusqu’à la victoire finale. Plus vous avancez dans l’arbre du tournoi et plus le niveau de votre adversaire sera élevé.

Déroulement d’un Bracket Solo

Pour pouvoir participer à un tournoi Bracket Solo, vous devez impérativement vous inscrire au moins 5 minutes avant le début du tournoi. L’objectif étant de progresser dans l’arbre du tournoi, il faut que votre inscription soit validée pour pouvoir générer l’arbre.

Dès que le tournoi est lancé, l’arbre du tournoi est affiché dans l’onglet « Bracket ». Le bouton « Jouer » fait également son apparition et c’est ici que vous validerez votre présence et serez mis en relation avec votre adversaire dès le lancement du match.

Rejoignez-le en ajoutant son compte plateforme/identifiant en jeu (pensez à utiliser le chat du match qui s’ouvre automatiquement pour vous retrouver)  et commencez votre partie une fois que tous les paramètres des règles sont renseignés.

Vous devez impérativement cliquer sur "prêt" depuis votre feuille de match (onglet « Jouer »). Si vous ne le faites pas dans les 15 minutes imparties après la création de votre match, vous serez considéré absent, donc perdant.

Pour la création d’une partie, le joueur situé en haut du Bracket hébergera la partie. Dans le cas où la partie ne serait pas un BO1, les joueurs doivent héberger les manches alternativement. Le joueur situé en haut du Bracket doit héberger la première manche de la rencontre. La deuxième manche est hébergée par son adversaire et ainsi de suite alternativement.

Ici, JOUEUR 1 doit héberger la première manche.

Restez bien connecté durant tout le tournoi à la page de celui-ci pour éviter de perdre par FREEWIN.

Une fois votre partie terminée, renseignez vos scores et le gagnant passera au tour suivant.

Déroulement d'un bracket par équipe

Un Bracket par équipe se déroule quasiment de la même manière qu’en solo, à la différence près que toutes les étapes de validation et de mise en relation avec votre adversaire seront faites par votre Capitaine.

Le format étant le même, une inscription maximum 5 minutes avant le début du tournoi est obligatoire. Dès que le tournoi est lancé, l’arbre du tournoi est affiché dans l’onglet « Bracket ». Le bouton « Jouer » fait également son apparition et c’est ici que les Capitaines organiseront le match en ajoutant leur compte plateforme/identifiant en jeu (pensez à utiliser le chat du match qui s’ouvre automatiquement pour vous retrouver). Commencez votre partie une fois que tous les paramètres des règles sont renseignés.

Le Capitaine doit impérativement cliquer sur "prêt" depuis la feuille de match (onglet « Jouer »). S’il ne le fait pas dans les 15 minutes imparties après la création du match, toute l’équipe sera considérée absente, donc perdante.

Pour la création d’une partie, le Capitaine de l’équipe située en haut du Bracket hébergera la partie. Dans le cas où la partie ne serait pas un BO1, les Capitaines doivent héberger les manches alternativement. Le Capitaine de l’équipe située en haut du Bracket doit héberger la première manche de la rencontre. La deuxième manche est hébergée par le Capitaine adverse et ainsi de suite alternativement.

Ici, le capitaine d'EQUIPE 1 doit héberger la première manche.

Le Capitaine doit rester connecté durant tout le tournoi à la page de celui-ci pour éviter de perdre par FREEWIN. Une fois votre partie terminée, chaque capitaine renseigne le score de son équipe et le gagnant passera au tour suivant.

Arbitrage

L’arbitrage des tournois bracket est réalisé en temps réel puisque l’issue d’un match détermine le tour suivant. Il convient donc de répondre rapidement aux questions de votre arbitre et de fournir les preuves demandées.

A chaque fois que vous gagnez une partie ou une manche, prenez des preuves photos au cas où votre adversaire contesterait votre victoire, et indiquez sur le site votre résultat pour la partie ou la manche.

Pour le bon déroulement de votre partie et de votre éventuel arbitrage, échangez un maximum avec votre adversaire via le chat de match situé en bas à droite de votre écran (et le cas échéant, également avec votre arbitre). Plus vous expliquez votre situation et plus vous répondez aux questions, plus vous mettez de chances de votre côté.

N’oubliez jamais le fait que vous êtes responsables de gérer votre match et de fournir rapidement tout élément nécessaire à l’arbitrage de votre match et que ne pas répondre pourrait être considéré comme un aveu.

Dès que vous rencontrez un problème, vous devez mettre votre match en arbitrage en cliquant sur le bouton « demander un arbitre ».

Surtout, ne jouez pas un match non conforme, tout match joué est un match dont vous avez accepté les conditions, votre contestation ne pourrait donc pas être acceptée.

A noter : dans le cas d’une discipline par équipe, seul le capitaine peut parler dans le chat avec le capitaine adverse et uploader des preuves.

Pour plus de détails, veuillez en référer aux règles de votre tournoi et à sa FAQ.